WTC Final 2021: Dream of becoming World Test champion shattered, New Zealand beat by 8 wickets in final

New Zealand beat India by 8 wickets in the final of the ICC World Test Championship. With this, New Zealand has captured the first title of WTC under the captaincy of Kane Williamson. The Kiwi team achieved the target of 139 runs from Team India by losing just 2 wickets. In the second innings, captain Williamson (52 not out) and Ross Taylor (47 not out) played an important role in the team’s historic victory for New Zealand. Earlier, India’s team was all out after scoring just 170 runs in the second innings. In front of the fast bowlers of New Zealand, Team India’s batsmen were scattered like cards. Tim Southee took the maximum 4 wickets in the second innings for the Kiwis, while Kyle Jamieson took five wickets in the first innings.

WTC Final 2021: Virat Kohli, Sunil Gavaskar and Nasser Hussain, who became victims of Kyle Jamieson for the second time

Chasing the target of 139 runs from India, New Zealand did not have a good start and Tom Latham (9) and Devon Conway (19) could not show anything special with the bat. After this, Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor handled the Kiwi innings and shared an unbeaten 96-run partnership for the third wicket. Taylor and Williamson did not appear to be in any trouble in front of the India bowlers and both opened shots around the field. Ravichandran Ashwin took 2 wickets in the second innings for India, but he could not get the support of the rest of the bowlers. India’s fast bowlers were seen straying from the line length in the second innings.

Ravichandran Ashwin became the highest wicket-taker in the World Test Championship, leaving Pat Cummins behind

Earlier on the sixth day of the Test, India started playing ahead of their yesterday’s score 64/2. The start of the reserve day was very good for New Zealand and Jamieson sent Kohli and Pujara cheaply to the pavilion. Virat became the victim of Kyle Jamieson in both the innings of the WTC final. Kohli could only manage 13 runs in the second innings after facing 29 balls. At the same time, Test specialist batsman Pujara also went on playing an innings of just 15 runs. After this, Ajinkya Rahane, trying to set up at the crease, failed to understand the delivery of Trent Boult and returned to the pavilion by catching Watling on the score of 15 runs. Jadeja (16) and Ravichandran Ashwin (7) also could not show anything special with the bat and the entire Indian team was reduced to just 170 runs. For New Zealand, Tim Southee took three wickets and Jamieson took two wickets.

Batting first after losing the toss, the Indian team scored 217 runs in the first innings. For the team, Ajinkya Rahane scored the highest 49 and captain Virat Kohli scored 44 runs. India were once looking in good shape after losing three wickets for 146 runs in the first innings, but the Indian batsmen succumbed one by one to the deadly bowling of Kyle Jamieson. In reply to India’s 217, New Zealand scored 249 runs in the first innings and took a valuable 32 runs. Devon Conway scored 54 runs for the Kiwis, while captain Williamson played an important innings of 49 runs. For India, Mohammed Shami took four and Ishant took three wickets.

Related news


Source link