French Open 2021: Novak Djokovic wins 19th Grand Slam, defeats Greek’s Stefanos Tsitsipas in the final

Digital Desk, Paris. World number one tennis player Novak Djokovic has won the French Open 2021 title as well as won his 19th Grand Slam. Djokovic defeated Greek player Stefanos Tsitsipas 6-7, 2-6, 6-3, 6-2, 6-4 in a match that lasted about 4 hours and 11 minutes. With this impressive win at the French Open, the 34-year-old star player Djokovic became the third player in the history of the tennis tournament to win all four Grand Slams twice. Prior to him, former Australian tennis player Roy Emerson and former Australian player Rod Laver had done this feat.

Novak Djokovic had earlier won the French Open title in 2016 by defeating Andy Murray of Britain. This is the second French Open title of Djokovic’s career and with this he has won 19 Grand Slams in his career. Djokovic is now just one step away from the record 20 Grand Slams held by Roger Federer of Switzerland and Rafael Nadal of Spain.

Djokovic sealed his place in the title match after defeating 13-time winner Nadal in the semi-finals of the French Open. Before Djokovic, there have been four players in the Open Era who made a comeback from two sets in the Roland Garros final. They were Björn Borg (1974), Ivan Lendl (1984), Andre Agassi (1999), and Gaston Gaudio (2004). The only player to achieve this feat in another Grand Slam in the Open Era was Dominic Thiem, who did so in the final of the US Open last year.

When did Djokovic win the Grand Slam
Novak Djokovic of Serbia, the world number-1 tennis player, first won the Australian Open in 2008. After this he won the Australian Open in 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2019, 2020, 2021. Won the French Open in 2016 and 2021. At the same time, Wimbledon won in 2011, 2014, 2015, 2018, 2019. Won the US Open in 2011, 2015, 2018.


Source link