Australia Open 2021: Barbora Krejchikova and Rajeev Ram win mixed doubles titles

Australia Open 2021-Barbora Krejchikova and Rajeev Ram Champion (Photo-AP)

Australia Open 2021: Krejchikova-Ram defeated Matt Ibdon and Sam Stosur 6–1, 6–4.

New Delhi. The pair of Barbora Krejchikova and Rajiv Ram won the mixed doubles title of the Australian Open on Saturday. This mixed doubles pair also won the Australia Open in 2019. This is Krejchikova’s third consecutive trophy. He and Ram defeated Australia’s wild carded pair of Matt Ibdon and Sam Stosur 6–1, 6–4 in the mixed doubles final. Krejchikova won the first Australian Open title with Ram two years ago. He then won this trophy with Croatia’s Nikola Mektich last year.

Naomi Osaka became women’s singles champion
Japan’s Naomi Osaka on Saturday defeated Jennifer Brady in straight sets in the final of the women’s singles to clinch the Australian Open title, her fourth Grand Slam trophy. Osaka won the fourth title at Grand Slam for the eighth time, winning the final six games in a row to win 6-4, 6-3. With her strong service, Osaka amassed six ace and scored the Major Finals 4–0 and she is the first female player to do so after Monica Selles started her career 30 years ago.

Osaka won the US Open title last year. He won the trophy of the US Open in 2018 and the Australian Open in 2019. Twenty-three-year-old Osaka was born in Japan but settled in the US with her family when she was three. At the same time, 25-year-old American player Brady was playing his first Grand Slam final. When she arrived in Australia in January, she had to undergo 15 days of rigorous segregation due to someone’s flight being Kovid-19 positive.Champions League: Messi’s team Barcelona lost badly, Mbappe’s hat-trick

Djokovic and Danil Medvedev clash in Men’s singles final

World number one Novak Djokovic will be eyeing the ninth at Melbourne Park and the 18th Grand Slam of his career when he enters the Australian Open final on Sunday while his opponent Danil Medvedev will be trying to win the first title. Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal have won 20 titles in Grand Slam men’s tennis more than Djokovic. Medvedev lost the US Open final and this time he does not want to leave any core to win the first Grand Slam title.


Source link